An Iron Dome system battery. Credit: IDF.

An Iron Dome system battery. Credit: IDF.

( Eleven of 37 U.S. lawmakers who did not vote in favor of emergency aid for Israel’s Iron Dome missile defense system have received a combined $92,387 from J Street’s political action committee (JStreetPAC).

Earlier this month, the U.S. Congress voted 395-8 to approve an additional $225 million in emergency funding for the Iron Dome amid Israel’s Operation Protective Edge. The Washington Free Beacon, citing Federal Election Committee documents, reported Aug. 21 that JStreetPAC in the current election cycle has donated $21,145 to Reps. Keith Ellison (D-MN), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), and Walter Jones (R-NC), who all voted against the Iron Dome funds.

An additional eight lawmakers who abstained from the vote–Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Susan Davis (D-CA), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), John Garamendi (D -CA), Jim McDermott (D-WA), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), Jackie Speier (D-CA), and Ed Whitfield (R-KY)–received $71,242 from JStreetPAC.

J Street itself, however, on its website calls for “robust American military aid to Israel.” In March 2013, the lobby urged the “swift passage” of the Iron Dome Support Act.

Powered by WPeMatico