Mayor Alex H. Edelman

Ending what many called a dirty election season, incumbent Lawrence Mayor Alex Edelman, in a 1,127 to 178 vote, was overwhelmingly returned to office for another two-year term in Tuesday’s election over challenger Trustee Daniel Goldstein.

Goldstein, who is a village trustee, will remain on the board as his term is not finished.

The two open board seats were claimed by Eli Kutner with 920 votes, and Paris Popack with 871 votes, who ran with Edelman on the Unity Party ticket. Incumbent Uri Kaufman had the next highest votes cast, followed by Joel M. Preminger, J. Lawrence Kolody and Bruce Backman.

Village Justice Gary Mandel won his first four-year term with 1,096 votes. His opponent Shrage Rokosz had 176.

Along with the record field of 10 candidates, Tuesday’s Lawrence election turnout was the highest in many years, according to officials. The line to vote snaked around the parking lot of the Lawrence Yacht & Country Club clubhouse, and up to 200 people were still waiting to vote when the polls closed at 9 p.m.

Cedarhurst Trustees Dan Plaut and Myrna Zisman both ran unopposed and were reelected to four-year terms. Plaut received 218 votes and Zisman received 215.

In Hewlett Bay Park, incumbent Mayor Steven Kaufman and Trustee Gail Rubel won re-election with 87 and 82 votes. Trustee candidate Dr. Antonio Oliviero also was elected with 75 votes. Oliviero succeeds trustee Joel Schinder, who stepped down. There were two write-in votes for Stella Gershfeld.

Ross Epstein, mayor of Hewlett Neck, and incumbent trustees Aron Schnell and Steven Hochberg were each re-elected with 39, 38 and 37 votes, respectively.

Woodsburgh Trustee Carl Cayne (9) won his ninth term. David Perl (11) was elected to his first term, replacing incumbent trustee Barry Platnick, who stepped down.

Lawrence resident Frank Argento and Avi Fertig, of Woodmere, were elected as commissioners of Sanitary District 1.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here