Ronnie Myers, D.D.S, Dean of TouroCDM, with honorees Stanley M. Bergman, Chairman & CEO of Henry Schein, Inc., Elias K. Hashim, D.D.S., Adele El Kareh, M.D., Ph.D., Esti and Ushi Stahler, Jay P. Goldsmith, D.M.D., Founding Dean of TouroCDM, along with Edward F. Farkas, D.D.S., Vice Dean of TouroCDM, and Alan Kadish, M.D., president of Touro College and University System

Steven Kess, Vice President of Global Professional Relations, Henry Schein, Inc., Ronnie Myers, D.D.S, Dean of TouroCDM, Edward F. Farkas, D.D.S., Vice Dean of TouroCDM, Stanley M. Bergman, Chairman & CEO, Henry Schein, Inc., A.J. Caffentzis, Vice President, North America Dental Group Strategic Initiatives, Henry Schein, Inc., David Kochman, Vice President, Corporate Affairs and Deputy Chief of Staff, Henry Schein, Inc., Marion Bergman, and Seema Bhansali, Director, Corporate Affairs, Henry Shein, Inc.

Touro College of Dental Medicine (TouroCDM) recently celebrated the dedication of Touro Dental Health, the college’s new clinical training and oral healthcare facility, and hosted its second annual gala. The dedication honored the ongoing support of Henry Schein, Inc. and MIS Implant Technologies and their recent gifts, while the gala recognized the contributions of Stanley M. Bergman, chairman of the board, and CEO of Henry Schein, Inc. and Jay P. Goldsmith, D.M.D., founding dean of TouroCDM.

Hosted at the TouroCDM campus, the Touro Dental Health dedication featured remarks by Dean Dr. Ronnie Myers, thanking Henry Schein, the world’s largest provider of healthcare products and services to office-based dental, animal health, and medical practitioners, for donating equipment for the school’s 113-seat simulation lab, and named the Henry Schein Cares Simulation Center in the company’s honor. Henry Schein also plans to donate additional equipment to Touro Dental Health in support of the school’s efforts to provide health services to underserved members of the community.

“We at Henry Schein are pleased to be part of the Touro College of Dental Medicine’s mission to train outstanding dental professionals, to advance dental research, and to provide excellent oral health services to the public,” Mr. Bergman said. “The Henry Schein Cares Simulation Center will go a long way to helping Touro fulfill that mission, and it is a privilege to partner with an institution that shares our belief in the power of digital dental technology to advance oral health, and by extension overall health, in our society.”

One of the school’s oral surgery rooms was dedicated by MIS Implants, a leading implant dentistry company.

“Since opening, we have seen extraordinary support from leaders in the dental industry like Henry Schein and MIS Implants. They see our vision and are also committed to educating the next generation of dentists,” said Dr. Myers, in his remarks at the dedication. “We thank them both for these gifts. They will go far for both our students and the community.”

Following the dedications, guests attended a gala hosted at the Ritz-Carlton in Westchester. Attended by numerous influential members of the community, college administration, faculty, alumni, and staff, the fundraising event supported Touro Dental Health.

“It has been a busy year for members of the Touro Dental community. Since last year’s gala, we welcomed a new class of students and opened the doors of our new dental clinic. We have much to celebrate,” said Dr. Myers. “We want to thank everyone here for their support and look forward to witnessing the continued success of our distinguished guests, staff, and students.”

This year, two distinguished guests were recognized for their commitment to TouroCDM and the community: Mr. Bergman, and Jay P. Goldsmith, D.M.D., founding dean of TouroCDM.

Mr. Bergman was presented with the Distinguished Corporate Leadership Award in recognition of his leadership in advancing oral health care to underserved communities, a shared vision of the College. Mr. Bergman has been Chairman of the Board and CEO of Henry Schein, Inc. for almost three decades. Mr. Bergman serves as a board member or advisor for numerous business and academic institutions and is an honorary member of the American Dental Association.

Jay P. Goldsmith was awarded the Visionary Lifetime Achievement Award, for his leadership, vision, and commitment to establishing Touro College of Dental Medicine, the first dental school in New York State in over 50 years and the first under Jewish auspices. For the past 39 years, Dr. Goldsmith has managed a private practice in New York City and served as a dental educator, supervising, and teaching general practice, oral, and maxillofacial surgery residents and undergraduates. Dr. Goldsmith is a Founder Fellow of the American College of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

Ushi and Esti Stahler, Adele El Kareh, M.D. and Elias K. Hashim, D.D.S., all received community partnership awards presented by Dr. Edward Farkas, vice dean and chairman of dentistry. They were recognized for their commitment to advancing the mission of TouroCDM which is to graduate outstanding dental professionals who will deliver excellent healthcare service to their diverse communities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here